Tags:
  1. Thanshin

Thanshin Active Member

An inexplicable being

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Thanshin, Jun 15, 2010.

I'm starting to think about a plot and I'd like to get some opinions about its viability.

It involves characters that come from a place so alien to humanity and our universe that it's inexplicable. The needed terms to understand it will always be beyond the human mind to comprehend.

The only way a character from that place to make himself understood is through a complex allegory. The question is: Will the required perpetual metaphor become tiresome? Will the reader accept never understanding the underlying reality?

For example, the allegory could go something like this:

"Imagine the entire World is a movie. One that’s being recorded at this very moment. The only difference is that actors don’t know they are on stage, they think the movie is real and they can’t see anything beyond it."

"Imagine I’m a sound technician. I see the movie being recorded, I know the actors are actors and I see the stage as it really is; just a stage."

"Now imagine that during the recording of the movie, an actress turns and smiles at me; nothing wrong with that, right? After all, in this movie actors are free to do whatever they want. Except she isn’t supposed to know I exist."

"And yet here you are, hearing my voice, and staring at me as if I was right here in front of you."

"But, you are in front of me," she said, oblivious of the profound impossibility of such answer.

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Every attempt to explain them will seem flat.

I'd suggest leaving them unexplained. As humans interact with them, they can show thorug their reactions they do not understand the aliens or the universe they come from.

Conversely, the aliens, by necessity, will find us equally incomprehensible.