1. phurst
    Offline

    phurst Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    2

    Post Formats

    Discussion in 'Support & Feedback' started by phurst, Nov 2, 2007.

    I just posted a story and yesterday I tried to do a little copy past editing for someone else. Why doesn't the posting accept word formats, most importantly, spacing, indents, color, ect?
     
  2. Cogito
    Offline

    Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    35,935
    Likes Received:
    2,043
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Because the forum uses software designed for forum use, not for publishing. There's no budget for a custom software development project to change that.

    It does require a little bit of effort to adjust the posts for optimum readability, but everyone is on the same playing field.
     
  3. Heather Louise
    Offline

    Heather Louise Contributing Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,972
    Likes Received:
    32
    yea, you just have to work it a little once you ahve posted it. little bit of a pain from time to time, but then again, you get used to tpying ready to post it. like now i do not indent my work but start a new line, which works better on a forum.
    Heather
     
  4. secularzarathustra
    Offline

    secularzarathustra Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, British Columbia
    Unless you use a text editor rather than a word processor, with emacs this is not problem :)
     
  5. Cogito
    Offline

    Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    35,935
    Likes Received:
    2,043
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    You still are limited in terms of things like indenting - multiple spaces are converted to a single space.

    The real point is that the layout features you take for granted if you are using a word processor instead of a text editor are lost when you paste the text into the forum. If you are only using a text editor to begin with, you aren't as aware of losing features, because you never had them in your submission anyway :).
     

Share This Page