1. henmatth

henmatth New Member

Best & Worst Self Publishers

Discussion in 'Self-Publishing' started by henmatth, Jan 28, 2013.

As an author, I've experimented with self publishing. Prior to getting an agent (when I was unpublished in anything- including even magazines) a few mentioned to me that getting articles in print (magazines, newspapers, websites) and self publishing a book would be a good way to kickstart my career- as it shows experience and adds detailed information on my 'popularity' to my resume. Taking them up on my offer I set out to put my words in print and eventually self publish a novel. Needless to say I never completed a self-published novel. Granted, there are many fantastic companies out there- but I chose the worst one.

First word on google: Authorhouse. I wish I would have done my homework. Although they are teamed up with Penguin and have an established name in the world of book creating, they have many MANY complaints with the BBB (US, UK, and Canada) regarding their customer service. I ultimately lost $2,000 to their company after purchasing a package and canceling it. By the end of my process they had destroyed my book (my final copy had an array of spelling errors and the cover was done sloppily)- and so I cancelled the contract. They never refunded a dime and the investigation is still pending. But I'm happy things didn't work out. The more research I have done I have found that their royalty rates are around 5%- some of the lowest in the nation. And many people have sold books and out of mere contract stipulations- never recieved any royalties at all. They have magnificant lawyers and truly have a knack for ripping people off. Needless to say I took my losses and stood happily that I had my own copyrights- and didn't issue my words to them permanently.

Has anyone else dealt with self-publishing. What are your reviews on your publisher? Do you have any suggestions for the best and worst self publishers?

My tips: