1. JadeX

JadeX Senior Member

Potential international reactions to a US-Russia nuclear conflict?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by JadeX, Mar 26, 2016.

My current story is about just what I said in the title - a limited* nuclear engagement breaks out between the modern-day United States and Russian Federation.

(*in this case, "limited" means ~120 strikes across the US - still pretty extensive, but not anywhere near a full-scale war)

Obviously, this is the kind of thing that will not go unnoticed by the rest of the world, and the way they react to it will affect the course of the war, which will in turn have an effect on the plot of the story. I know some about foreign relations, but I'm not an expert by any means.

In particular, I want to know about...

NATO - obviously, Article 5 would be invoked immediately - "any attack against any NATO member state shall be considered an attack on NATO as a whole". But how might they react? Would Britain and France choose to go nuclear as well, and start lobbing missiles at Russia? Might they try something else first? Would they try to destroy the nukes that Russia has deployed in Crimea? Would NATO troops deploy anywhere, perhaps to bolster Ukraine?
    What if Russia decides to invade the Baltic states - Estonia, Latvia, & Lithuania, who are also NATO members? If things had not gone nuclear in Europe yet, might this push it over the threshold?
    Or might NATO decide not to go nuclear at all, at least not immediately?

Ukraine - when the Ukrainians start to see American missiles light up the sky over the Russian horizon, could they be expected to take advantage of the situation and launch a swift blitzkrieg to take back Crimea, Donetsk, and Luhansk?