Tags:
  1. jtshort33

jtshort33 New Member

POV Question

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by jtshort33, Feb 2, 2011.

I want to write most of my story in first person, but the protagonist is really young at the beginning so I start with 3rd person POV. He is only a child when his family is attacked by the antagonist and his army. He makes it away alive with his father but his mother is killed. They warn the nearest city about the army. There is an epic battle scene when they siege the city. The antagonist vastly outnumbers the defending city and burns it to the ground. The boy and his father barely make it out alive. I then skip ahead when the boy is a teenager, and that is where I start first person POV.

I really want to include this part of the story because it sets the framework for when the protagonist is older. I'm not sure though because third person seems a bit more difficult, and I'm not very experienced. Is starting out in 3rd person and then switching to 1st person too much? Should I try to tell this back story some other way? Also, are there any examples of this that I could read up on?

Thanks for any help!

2. Heather Munn

Heather Munn New Member

A lot of people ask about switching between first person and third person, but the truth is it's one of those things that is kind of "not done". Usually it's just a little too weird for the reader. (That doesn't mean you CAN'T do it of course. This is just my recommendation. But it's generally true in any kind of art or craft it's best to learn to work within the rules before you start breaking them.)

One exception, though, is a prologue. A page or two at the beginning that is before the first chapter, maybe in italics or something, and that sets up maybe some history or some secret that's in the story.

But it sounds as if what you've got is a little too long for a prologue.