1. Daryl

Daryl Member

Procrastinator....help!!!!

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Daryl, Jan 22, 2012.

hi there.. i am an aspiring short fiction writer...i have all these interesting and amazing ideas in my head..i jot a few of them down onto paper but i procrastinate ALOT when it comes to writing them..they seem so beautiful in my mind that i am scared that i wouldn't be able to do these ideas any justice when i write them....any ideas or excercises you guys thin k i could try to overcome this fear..thanks. :)

2. Cosmic Latte

Cosmic Latte Member

Hi Daryl,
    The easiest way to overcome procrastination is ... to just sit down and do it. I know - sounds easy but it can be harder than it sounds. Find a nice, quiet place where you can write undisturbed for, say ten minutes a day, every day (or the same certain days out of the week, such as on Mon/Wed/Sat). Ten minutes may not sound like a lot, but as you grow you can increase the time spent writing. Regularity helps build habit. For example, I like to write on my couch with my laptop. I work and go to school full-time, so frequently by the time I can get back to my writing I've accumulated a mental backlog of things to write, but because I mostly write in one spot I find it relatively easy to re-focus.
    One of the first writing exercises I learned in middle school was to write about anything for ten minutes straight (hence the aforementioned advise on a ten minute writing time). This exercise has two parts: