1. littleparisdress

littleparisdress New Member

Pseudonym or Real?

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by littleparisdress, May 29, 2009.

Hi

I was just wondering what are the disadvantages and advantages of using a pen name in writing, or using your real name?
    Say your book was a real success, then you wouldn't want so much publicity... but if your book was published but just another book on the shelf people would think you were a bad writer.
    So there's my problem. I think if my book was published I'd like to have a photo on a 'about the author' page, so even if I used a pen name my family and friends would still know.

What do you think?

2. Acglaphotis

Acglaphotis New Member

Real. The chances of striking success are minimal, so I wouldn't worry about publicity. If people think I'm a bad writer *shrug*, whatever.

3. littleparisdress

What if you are a bestseller or something?
    Or win some prestigious award?

4. ManhattanMss

ManhattanMss New Member