1. rainbowinthedark

rainbowinthedark New Member

Protecting before submitting?

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by rainbowinthedark, Dec 11, 2011.

Hi all....

I've been writing for many years now and last year I made a promise to someone, who is no longer with us, to get some work of mine published. The story won’t be anything that goes “mainstream” as it fits with a pretty niche market and because of that I have a good idea about how to go about getting the right people to look at it. However, what's holding me back from submitting it (and therefore preventing me from fulfilling the promise) is that I worry about my story potentially being "stolen" by those I submit it to.

Can anyone advise me about how to go about protecting my work in some way before sending it off into the world? I’ve briefly looked into copywriting but I’m not sure if that’s the best thing to do. I’ve been told to copy my story to a disk and mail the disk to myself via recorded delivery and leave it unopened (poor man’s copyright?) but again, that doesn’t feel like the best way to protect my work.

I'd be very grateful for any advice. Thanks for reading!

2. Blue Night

Blue Night Active Member

You have a valid reason for being concerned about your hard work. I am no exception.

I have my works registered with the copyright office. In fact, you can submit multiple literary works in one file to the US Copyright Office. And all those works will be registered for the one fee of $35 (provided they are all authentic original works).
    Then comes the nay-sayers who will argue a registered copyright doesn’t prevent people from stealing it, therefore it cannot be protected.

Wrong answer.

Let’s say I am someone you entrusted to read your work. Today, without your knowing, I post in on a website for feedback. I take the credit.

And then tomorrow, I submit it to a literary agent or even a publishing house.
    At this point, you have done nothing.