1. Braden Hunt

Braden Hunt New Member

How can I make money writing?

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by Braden Hunt, Jan 1, 2015.

So I am new to the writing field and learning how to make money as a freelancer!

I know about those sites that other writers use like Elance, CopyContest, Odesk and Craigslist, etc, but is there a better place to start for someone who hasn't gotten a lot of experience and would have hard time competing with writers with years of knowledge?

2. BayView

BayView Huh. Interesting. Contributor

Is there a reason you've chosen writing?

Honestly, you'd probably be further ahead getting a minimum wage job somewhere... it's pretty hard to make money writing, especially if you're not confident of your skills.

Nightstar99 likes this.
  3. Braden Hunt

Braden Hunt New Member

I started writing because I am passionate about it. People tell me that I have a talent so I want to put it to use.

4. GingerCoffee

GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor

A talent for writing is not the equivalent of 'income from writing'. Write because you want to, but unless you go into some literary occupation like teaching writing, income from writing can be hit or miss, and if it's a hit, it's generally a delayed event.

I see you are 34. What is your current occupation?

5. Steerpike

Steerpike Felis amatus Contributor

You can make decent money freelancing. The sites you mentioned, also talk to local clientele and market to businesses who might use your services. It isn't unusual for it to take a year to 18 months to build up a volume of work so that you consistently make enough money.

6. Mckk

Mckk Member Supporter Contributor