1. writerdude11

writerdude11 New Member

Publishing advice

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by writerdude11, Mar 16, 2013.

Hey guys, I was wondering if anybody could give me advice on what the publishing experience is like. Im a budding writer thinking about publishing a collection of short stories and am sort of scared as to what to expect and how to do it. Thanks and have a great day!

2. chicagoliz

chicagoliz Contributor Contributor

Are you saying you want to self-publish a collection of short stories? Have you had any short stories published by magazines or short story journals? You might be better off going that route. But, if you really just want them out there, and want to publish them yourself, have you investigated amazon or smashwords?

3. minstrel

minstrel Leader of the Insquirrelgency Supporter Contributor

It is possible to publish a collection of short stories as a first book, but it is extremely difficult. Most agents and publishers won't even look at such a book from a new writer. You have to be damn good - and I mean major-literary-prize-good - to have a collection even considered.

But it can be done. Junot Diaz's first book, Drown, is a short story collection. Jhumpa Lahiri's first book was a story collection as well and won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction in 2000. George Saunders has only published collections of short stories (along with one novella), and was awarded a MacArthur Fellowship. If you're as good as these writers, go for it. If not, you'd probably have more luck starting with a novel.

4. ChickenFreak

ChickenFreak Contributor Contributor

You may already know the below, but just in case: