1. Molly7

Molly7 New Member

This is urgent. Can someone help me please?

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by Molly7, Jul 26, 2010.

Hello Everyone,

I am a new member here and this is my first post. I like this forum a lot and I feel that there is a world of ideas to be shared among its members.

I am trying to begin a career in writing so I sent samples of my writings to a nonprofit American organization - specialized in publishing instructional scientific materials. I sent them also my resume and a cover letter.
    They responded very fast and told me that they were interested in my background. They sent me an application form, a reference check form, an assignment of copyright, an employment verification and confidentiality agreement and asked me to complete all these documents and send them back to them with my real signature on them. They also offered "sponsoring" which I don't really get what it means when it comes to writing.

I am totally new to the world of publishing so I would greatly appreciate it if someone answers the following 3 questions:
    1. How can I know more about the status of this organization before sending them my personal information.
    2. Is it normal to sign the assignment of copyright and the confidentiality agreement before negotiating the salary and accepting the job?
    3. In the world of publishing, what does "sponsoring" mean?

If you don't have the time to answer my questions, would you at least tell me where I can find those answers. Thank you very much for your time and assistance.

Have a great day.

2. Steerpike

Steerpike Felis amatus Contributor

Just looking at #2 - others may have more insight on the other questions.

It is not uncommon in many areas of business to be asked to sign a Confidentiality Agreement before any information is exchanged. You'll want to look at the Agreement carefully to see what all of the provisions are and whether you agree to it. Better yet, have an attorney look at it.