1. Pippy428

Pippy428 New Member

Going hard...

Discussion in 'Non-Fiction' started by Pippy428, Apr 21, 2010.

Being a fairly new writer I sometimes find myself stuck figuring out how to begin writing professionally. I've read a few books, subscribed to a few sites, spoken with a few people but the info I've received thus far just seems so vague. I don't know, maybe it's just me. Maybe I'm expecting some elaborate outline on how to start writing for hire and maybe that just isn't the way it goes. Does anyone have any advice on how to really just go hard at pursuing a professional writing career? I write non-fiction and I would love to write articles for print or online, but I just don't know where to begin. Any books, resources, websites or "how to get started" advice is greatly appreciated. Perhaps I'm just reading too much into the way I assume this process is supposed to go. Feedback is welcome here...LOL! Thank you.

2. thirdwind

thirdwind Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor

For articles and other such non-fiction, you can always write as a freelancer. That basically involves writing an article and submitting to magazines, newspapers, etc. If you're good and/or popular with readers, then you might become a regular contributor. I'm not aware of any good freelance sites but a quick google search should bring up a few places to start. Another thing to do is to look for internships, but I don't think many places offer internships for writers (most of them are for editors).

3. Nobeler Than Lettuce

Nobeler Than Lettuce New Member