Tags:
  1. southernsontn

southernsontn New Member

Question about prologues from a novice author.

Discussion in 'Science Fiction' started by southernsontn, Sep 7, 2012.

As the thread title suggests, I am fairly new to writing. The main project that I am working on is a science fiction novel set in a fairly expansive universe that I have created a piece at a time. While I plan on keeping certain aspects of this universe obscured from the reader, I feel that in order for the reader to fully appreciate the book, that they should have a little bit of the backstory in their mind as they proceed through the book. I have written a prologue from the perspective of the main protagonist to not only introduce the character and fill in a little bit of his history, but to introduce a few aspects of the history of the Universe in general. Nothing really happens in the prologue, it essentially serves as an introduction for the reader to this universe, and as a way to allow the reader to get a basic understanding of the internal struggle that the character will face throughout the book. Would this be a good use of a prologue, or should I try to integrate the prologue into the rest of book?

Thanks in advance for any help, since I am currently on about my twentieth incarnation of the prologue/first chapter.

2. ChickenFreak

ChickenFreak Contributor Contributor

I think that prologues are almost always a bad idea, backstory is almost always a bad idea, and therefore prologues of backstory... Not a good idea.

My recommandation? Pretend you already wrote the perfect prologue. Write the rest of the book assuming that that perfect prologue exists. When it's done, I'll bet that you won't really need the prologue, and that the occasional scrap of background that's really needed can be slipped into the book somewhere.

1 person likes this.
  3. Mckk

Mckk Member Supporter Contributor