1. sophia_esteed

sophia_esteed New Member

Novel Question about quotation

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by sophia_esteed, Oct 17, 2010.

Hi, guys.
    I have a question about using quotation.
    I'm writing a chapter in which I need to quote a specific work from another author and some material from movies and then model what happens in the chapter after the situations in the book and movies.
    I explicitly quoted the author and title of the book and the titles of the movies as well and I explained why I did it but would this still count as plagiarism?
    It's a narrative deviced most used by some post-modern authors I studied at the university but I've never used it before so I was unsure as to which degree I can use reference from other works without falling into plagiarism.

2. Banzai

Banzai One-time Mod, but on the road to recovery Contributor

It depends on the copyright status of the works you're quoting from, but you'll most likely need the permission of the original author.

3. madhoca

madhoca Contributor Contributor

It's not plagiarism if you give a direct quote and acknowledge your source, and the work is for academic purposes like a dissertation.
    When you write your continuing bit, using the example as a model, you have to paraphrase. You can't risk it seeming as if you're trying to pass the words of the original work off as your own.
    If you are going to publish this as a work of fiction, I guess you'll need permission.

4. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Correct. You can use short excerpts, properly attributed, without permission in certain circumstances called Fair Use. Fair Use is primarily use in academic papers, reviews, and the like. It does not apply to inclusion in a work of fiction. For that you must have the copyright owner's permission.

5. Steerpike

Steerpike Felis amatus Contributor