1. Jason Haffler

Jason Haffler New Member

question on ethics and intellectual property in fiction

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Jason Haffler, Nov 30, 2010.

I am an unpublished fiction writer and often base stories that I write off of personal experiences or experiences of people close to me. I have one particular friend who has told me a lot of incredible anecdotes over the years. These anecdotes tend to revolve around a core group of people who he knows but I have never had the pleasure of meeting. My friend has aspirations to write but has never actually written a word of fiction and probably never will. I would hate for his stories to go to waste and would love to incorporate them into my own work, yet I have a feeling of trepidation about beginning this process. I fear that there is maybe something unethical using another person's anecdotes.

Have any of you ever heard a great anecdote from a fellow writer that you wanted to use in your own work? Can a story someone tells you be their intellectual property if it is from their actual experience and not their imagination ? Has a published author ever been accused of plagiarism for doing something similar to what I am describing?

Thank you very much for reading my post. I look forward to hearing your thoughts on this issue.

Jason

2. Unit7

Unit7 Contributing Member Contributor

You know you could always just ask him whether or not you can use his stories.

3. Mallory

Mallory Mallegory. Contributor

Seconded. As long as you're not ripping off something copyrighted, you're good.

4. Jason Haffler

Jason Haffler New Member