1. Ant

Ant New Member

Sales Figures / Making a Deal

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by Ant, Feb 10, 2011.

Hello All

I am new to this thread and to the world of writing but i wanted to ask you a question in light of a new non-fiction submission that seems to be making much headway with a major publisher.

So far we have been told sales of a non fiction book are generally low, in the region of 10,000 worldwide and if we are successful with a deal it seems that we will be offered an advance of £3000 - £5000 and then a 10% royalty fee based on the net profit of each book sold.

Of course before agreeing to any deal we would like to clarify this information but I have found that that it is extremely hard to establish this and the estimated sales figures for any type of book worldwide. I know Nielsen offer a sales tracking service but it costs a great deal especialy if you want them to cover every terrritory for every book.

Does anyone have any advice on this matter I am sure other people in this situation must have faced this dilema before?

Thankyou for your time.

Ant

2. Trilby

Trilby Contributor Contributor

If we are talking a major reputable publisher - then in today's economic climate I would be inclined to trust them.
    Three to five grand in the hand and 10% thereafter, for a non-fiction book seams fair to me. Don't take my word for it wait until you get more opinions. Mammamia knows her stuff and will be able to answer your question better than I can.
    Best of luck!

3. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

3-5k pounds [almost $5,000 to $8,000 USD] would be an extremely good advance for any new writer's first book, even more so for a non-fiction title... and a 10% royalty could be good, depending on how that 'net profit' is calculated...