1. sanguine

sanguine New Member

Rapid Improvement

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by sanguine, Jan 6, 2011.

Improvement

Hello, I'm new to this forum and decided to join because I have a general question about writing and no one in particular to ask. I am currently a sophomore in college (still 19 years old but almost 20), and I have quite a few ideas for novels that I would really like to write. As of now, I have developed my first novel quite thoroughly and actually wrote twelve chapters of it before getting stuck on certain details I had previously overlooked. Those details have been cleared up, but here's my big problem:

Reading over the draft of my first twelve chapters, I have found that my prose has changed and improved substantially over the time I have spent writing those chapters, and because I am a perfectionist and like a sense of consistency in quality, I'm afraid of reworking or continuing my draft.

I guess I'm wondering if there is a certain point in a writer's development when the quality of their work/prose becomes consistent? And should I wait a couple more years before attempting something as long as a novel because of how rapidly I have been improving?

And just for a little extra information (if it helps you out at all), I've been keeping personal and creative journals since 2007 and have always written well in high school and college. And my improvements, as I have noticed, are primarily in the fluency and word choice (but mostly fluency).

I appreciate any ideas! :D

2. MsLee123

MsLee123 Member

Welcome to the forum! As you go along and start reading and responding to posts here you'll quickly realize there is no "appropriate" age to either begin or start writing. If you're a good writer, you're a good writer.