1. TDFuhringer

TDFuhringer Contributing Member Contributor

Read my first draft after a month break.

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by TDFuhringer, Feb 19, 2014.

Just read my first draft after setting it aside for a month. It's my first time finishing a full draft. And now I can see why people advise taking a break to get perspective.

It's horrible. But it's also not horrible.

In the first act, the writing is unbearable, the story has all the structure of a pile of mashed potatoes and the plot holes are as plentiful as craters on the moon. By the third act, the writing is less unbearable, the story works and the plot holes are few.

To my surprise, I'm not crushed by how bad it is. As I read, I saw exactly what was wrong and what needed fixing or changing. I'm actually looking forward to what will undoubtedly be a full rewrite.

I was also surprised to find a handful of paragraphs that were actually decent. Now I just have to make the rest of the book sound as good as those. :)

Bottom line: Now I see why you need to set your manuscript aside before rewriting. I highly recommend it.

Foxe, minstrel, Tesoro and 1 other person like this.
  2. Tesoro

Tesoro Contributing Member Contributor

I totally agree, it's amazing how differently you look at your own work after having set it aside for a while. Plus the little gems you didn't knew existed, those shine through too. Congrats! :)

TDFuhringer likes this.
  3. Passero

Passero Member

Sounds like great advice.
    I haven't finished anything yet but after reading this, I will probably do the same when I finish a first draft.

4. Garball

Garball Sometimes nothing can be a real cool hand. Supporter Contributor