1. Thornesque

Thornesque Senior Member

How to Avoid the "I" and "My"

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by Thornesque, Apr 7, 2013.

So, I know there's probably not a quick fix to this, and that there's a variety of things I could probably do, but I'm curious, nonetheless, to see if anyone has some advice for me on this...

My current project is a first-person narrative, and I keep running into the same dilemma - every sentence seems to either start with the word "I" or the word "My," or with some start phrase, then a comma, and then one of the former. For example:

The sentences themselves aren't bad, and I realize that, in a first person perspective, there's no way to eliminate the "I" and "My" sentences. I'm just beginning to worry that it's too much. So, if any of you have any tips or advice, that'd be wonderful. Thanks in advance.

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

The way to avoid it is to write outward, not inward. The story is not about the protagonist, it is the world surrounding the protagonist.

It's a given that you are seeing the story unfold through the protagonist's eyes. You don't have to keep reminding the reader.

3. Thornesque

Thornesque Senior Member

It took me about a dozen read-overs to get your meaning right (not implying that it was unclear; just my own mental interpretation of it). I guess I get what you're saying now, though. When I think things in my own head it doesn't come out as "I can hear a siren outside." It comes out as "There's a siren outside." Seems kind of obvious once it's been blatantly stated to you. v.v

At any rate, thank you, thank you.

4. Thornesque

Thornesque Senior Member

ACK! Nevermind...

5. funkybassmannick

funkybassmannick New Member

Instead of saying "I gazed," tell us directly what the character is gazing at. It's a matter of showing, not telling.

Telling: "Jeremy gazed out a window. He saw a girl with a skirt walk her dog across the street. He sighed."