1. brihoppy

brihoppy New Member

Story/plot ideas/synopsis...

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by brihoppy, Apr 29, 2010.

Bear with me on this one guys...

As I've been looking around, I've seen Cog's template responses to people looking for feedback on story ideas, and while I largely agree with what he says, it got me thinking...

Thanks in advance if you plough through this post...!!!

Imagine this scenario...

It's back in the day...JK Rowling is sat in her grotty flat twiddling her thumbs, wracking her brains for a story to begin her rise from rags to riches, but she is bereft of creativity...so she decides to log-on to WF for inspiration.

On there, she checks the 'Plot Creation' threads and sees my wonderful idea for a boy wizard at magic school, etc, etc, that has recieved Cog's standard response.

This is all the inspiration she needs and as a fairly decent writer goes away and creates literary history...meanwhile, as an average writer, my boy wizard stories meet moderate success or a flurry of rejection slips.

My point is this...

Undeniably, if 10 people write about the same synopsis, then the strongest writing is most likely to be successful, but if JKR had never seen my story idea, then she might never have thought of anything remotely as successful and still be twiddling her thumbs. Therefore, even though Cog is largely right in what he says, isn't there still some danger in revealing your intimately thought out ideas on a public forum...?

Cheers,

Bri.

2. Deevra

Deevra New Member

Wow... That's just... damn depressing. I suppose there is the potential for great harm, yet at the same time, there is no gain without risk. So Boy Wizard doesn't work, well, do something else. Most stories can be re-adapted to a new setting.

3. brihoppy

brihoppy New Member