1. TheGreatNeechi

TheGreatNeechi New Member

Reviewing Poetry

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by TheGreatNeechi, Apr 20, 2011.

Lacking a cute and catchy way to pose this question:

How does one go about reviewing poetry?

I am a technical writer, as unfortunate and stilted as it may be. Everything I write is academic--which is why I am here to improve my creative process.

Academic and technical writing is easy, especially in my field (political science), but poetry is exempt from all of those rules. Structure, punctuation, even grammar and syntax are thrown to the wind in poetry, and it baffles me what I should be looking for in the critiquing process.

And we have a lot of poets here.

The difficulty in critiquing poetry is plainly obvious when a work sits in the unreviewed box for hours on end. I want to fix that, and I need your help.

1 person likes this.
  2. Sidewinder

Sidewinder Contributor Contributor

As a general rule, I would say comment on the way the poem feels. What sort of emotions does it evoke? You can get into specifics about what devices, images, etc. are working for you, but I think the most useful thing for the poet to hear is usually something about the emotional impact of the piece.

3. arron89

arron89 Banned

I really don't see academic writing and poetry as all that different. I mean, at least 80% of the writing I do is academic in nature, but it follows similar principles. Poetry may appear rule-less, but there are still methodical, formal ways of going about analysing it.