1. whatevershoes.

whatevershoes. New Member

my critiques aren't good enough

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by whatevershoes., May 9, 2009.

i read the guidelines for the constructive critiques, and it sounds very thorough.
    i'm not sure if i'll ever be able to post anything of my own,
    because i know i'm not very good at critiquing strangers.
    when it's someone i know well i can adapt to their individual way of writing
    and try to give suggestions that would fit their style,
    but when it's someone writing who i don't know at all
    i find it difficult to give specific critiques.
    i guess i need to be bolder and practice critiquing more,
    so that i can give more constructive advice
    so that i can share my own work...

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Sharing your work should not be the goal. The purpose of the Review Room wrorkshop is to learn to critique mire effectibely. Doing so will help you find and improve the weak points in your own writing.

3. Cheeno

Cheeno Member

Why do you want to adapt to someone else's style? Write how 'you' feel about the story you've read, and don't be afraid to go into specifics if you feel strongly about any point. You're not here to flatter anyone. You'll do yourself a big favour if you make a habit of approaching a critique from a constructive point of view. Read the piece. Digest what you've read, making notes as you go. Write your response, from a positive and constructive perspective. If you haven't the confidence yet, spend time reading other critiques until you get a handle on what's required. Good luck.

4. Torana

Torana Contributor Contributor

finf between 2-5 points in the piece you are trying to review, whether they are good or bad points and say what you did and didn't like about that 5 points.