Tags:
  1. K.S.A.

K.S.A. Member

FORMS OF POETRY – A to E

Discussion in 'The Craft of Writing Poetry' started by K.S.A., Apr 9, 2011.

I am pretty new to poetry – I have neither attempted to write it nor read a lot of it before – and, as such, am pretty confused as to where to begin. Poetry is a combination of meter, rhythm, intonation, rhyme, alliteration, form, assonance/consonance & diction. As separate entities, I understand these terms. Anyone who has studied the English language in detail would. However, how these terms apply in the context of poetry, I have absolutely no idea. So, I’m starting out with baby steps. I shall first tackle what I believe is the most important factor – FORM. I’ll list out the various forms I’ve come across during my research, & I hope this helps other new poets - or poets-in-the-making - understand this new form of expression.

Acrostic – It is a verse composition wherein the initial alphabet, of each consecutive line taken together, forms words.

Ballad – Verse that narrates a story basically. Most children’s poems are Ballads. They have something of a musicality to them.

Blank Verse – This is essentially unrhymed verse, written in iambic pentameter (Could someone please explain this term with an example, so that the rest of us can follow? Thanks)

Cento – A verse comprised of lines from other poems, put together to form an ironic juxtaposition of thoughts & voices. A bit like a patchwork quilt.

Cinquain – A form of poetry that is inspired by Haiku. Usually based on concrete ideas rather than intangibles like emotion, this form uses the syllabic breakdown of 2 4 6 8 2

Clerihew – It is a four line verse, of indeterminate meter & length that is a comical biography of someone famous. It is written in the rhyming structure of AABB.

Dorsimbra – It is made up of three stanzas of 4 lines each, each stanza applying a different form. Enjambment is used to keep the flow of the piece without losing it to form changes.