1. BigStackPoker

BigStackPoker New Member

Couple questions abot plot creation

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by BigStackPoker, May 31, 2011.

Couple questions about plot creation

Hi guys... As an aspiring writer, I have a couple questions, and I think this might be the right place to ask them.

I want to write a fantasy style novel, and I have a general idea of what I want to do and the story I want to tell, but I'm not entirely sure how I want to get to the conclusion.

Right now, I have a beginning and an end, but I haven't decided how I'm going to create the middle. I don't know what method of story generation would fall under the criteria of some generally accepted principles of story writing (if there is such a thing).

When constructing the plot of the story you want to tell, I assume you create some kind of general outline of the events you want your story to contain, but do you generally map out all the major points of your story from the start or do you allow yourself to go on a little adventure with your characters and have the plot develop itself as you go on?

How detailed an outline would you typically develop before you commence writing (even if it's just a mental outline, and not one you're creating, physically)?

Thanks in advance for your help and consideration.

EDIT: I like that my title has a typo... That's pretty embarrassing. I tried to update it, but I don't see the change being reflected on the main page. Oh well =)

2. darkhaloangel

darkhaloangel Active Member

Well, I think you'd be best to map it out in terms of scenes. Scenes can be anywhere for a couple of hundred words to a couple of thousand. Bearing in mind the average book is about 100,000 words you can plan for around 100 or so scenes, than you'll then weave into chaper format, and then into the whole book.