1. agentkirb

agentkirb New Member

Scam or no?

Discussion in 'Publisher Discussion' started by agentkirb, Aug 5, 2012.

I've asked a similar question on this website before. My situation is that I'm a writer by hobby. So I'll write relatively short novels (somewhere in the neighborhood of 50K words). I post them for free on a website that allows you to post stories and people can read them for free.

Some guy PMs me (I don't give out any personal info on the site so PM is the only way to contact me) saying he wants to buy the rights to a series of stories I wrote. I posted about it the first time it happened to me, and you guys suggested that it was probably a scam and I agreed after asking him more questions about his business and he was really vague about it and doesn't really go into details about how this business of his works.

Since that scam PM, I've gotten 3-4 other PMs that were the same sort of thing. And usually I'm nice and I ask for more details and as much information as they can conceivably give. Usually the people kind of stop PMing once I starting questioning them about what they do. But this recent guy actually replied with a 3-4 paragraph response. I basically asked "how does this business work?" and "why me, and not a writer you get through some agent?".

The PM he sent back I pasted below if you guys want to look. I edited out personal info, it's basically the name of the guys website and company because something just didn't seem right about including that seeing as it's a personal message.

So I'm a suspicious guy by nature. Does this sort of business ever happen? Should I just shut down the communication between us and say thanks but no thanks? Or is there a way I can proceed but block off potential ways for them to screw me over?