2 vote(s)
    14.3%
  2. No

12 vote(s)
    85.7%
  1. Bluemouth

Bluemouth Contributor Contributor

School Suspension

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Bluemouth, Mar 28, 2008.

My friend's brother, Jack, attends the school I graduated from, and the other day I heard he was externally suspended for a couple of days, which is the step below expulsion and goes on his record for the future. I was further amazed at the reason for his suspension, though. What do you think?

Jack was standing around with his friends when a teacher walked over and told them to pick up some of the rubbish that was lying around. The friends did this. The teacher told Jack, however, to pick up a couple of grapes that were sitting nearby. Jack refused, the reason being he didn't know where the grapes had been, so why should he put his health at risk? The teacher told him again to pick up the grapes and put them in the bin. Jack, again, refused.

He was then told to follow the teacher to the Focus Room (a detention-room kind of thing). Jack said: "No, I haven't done anything wrong." The teacher walked off, expecting Jack to follow, but he didn't. The process repeated itself about 3 times. Then the teacher returned and said he was going to get the Principal. About five minutes later the Principal comes round demanding where Jack is and takes him off to his office. Jack was then told he was facing external suspension, wasn't given a chance to have his say, and the Principal signed a form that can't be undone and so goes on his permanent academic record. If anything I think it was an abuse of power by the teacher. Why should the student pick up dirty rubbish while the teacher doesn't? And why should someone be suspended for something so petty?