1. raindog

raindog New Member

Learning From Authors

Discussion in 'Discussion of Published Works' started by raindog, Jul 31, 2008.

I am an amateur (teenage) writer and want to strengthen my skills.

I heard that many great authors learned how to write by writing others. For instance, HST cemented his writing skills when he copied The Great Gatsby and A Farewell to Arms on his typewriter.

Something like this requires an absorption in the material and a dedication to the author involved.

So I ask what you think of this enterprise. Is it worthless or useful?

2. TWErvin2

TWErvin2 Contributor Contributor

Raindog,

A while back I did an interview with author Sandra Kring. She's been quite successful, and her third novel with Bantam/Dell is coming out this fall (Thank You for All Things). Check out the link to the interview, and read the answer to the 5th question. I think it'll answer yours, or at least give you food for thought.

Interview with Sandra Kring

Good luck.

Terry

3. raindog

raindog New Member

Thanks for your reply. I don't want to imitate the desired author's voice though.

My purpose is to learn the composure of their complete novels and the writing technique involved. This includes sentence structure, paragraph focus, lucid writing and the like.

But they may be inseparable...

4. Last1Left

Last1Left Active Member

I think you should reread favorite novels of yours, and then just make mental analyses of the books as you go along. Things like diction and the connotation of certain words, or maybe the subtle techniques used to bring characters to life are all good examples. It's more enjoyable than actually rewriting a novel, and I think you'll derive the same effect from it.

5. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor