1. Mallory

Mallory Contributor Contributor

Seeking tips from fantasy writers

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Mallory, Dec 21, 2010.

Hey! I'm developing a story concept that's taking me out of my comfort zone of dystopia, horror and satire and launching me into the high fantasy arena.

Just so you know, this is NOT meant to be one of those annoying "please give me validation," "please tell me what my characters should do" etc posts. I've got my basic plot figured out and outlined, although I haven't started writing yet.

I've never written high fantasy before, and I was wondering, for those who have, are there any techniques (besides just good writing, of course) that make the good ones stand out? What do you like to see, and what rubs you the wrong way?

Btw, it's not a LOTR rip-off. I've got the basic plot figured out; the only resemblance to LOTR is the group of people going on a quest, but there aren't any elves, dwarves, orcs, or rings of power.

2. Steerpike

Steerpike Felis amatus Contributor

It really varies, Mallory. Well-developed, three-dimensional characters are essential. A combination of both internal and external conflict is compelling to me. High stakes and a sense of mystery about the characters and what is going on always works well for me. Really, though, when I think about the Fantasy novels I like best, it is more or less the author creating compelling characters and telling a great story in a great way.

Sorry that's so vague :)

3. ministar

ministar New Member

An important thing in any story is setting a mood. Since you're used to writing dystopian and horror fiction, your writing style may be darker and more... abrupt(?) than the stereotypical fantasy writer. I'm not saying you should change your style, because that's what makes you recognizable as a writer, but think about the atmosphere you'd like to convey (whimsical? epic?) and watch your word choice, sentence structure, dialogue, etc.

1 person likes this.
  4. Elgaisma