1. The Nightingale

The Nightingale New Member

Self-doubts holding me back

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by The Nightingale, Oct 21, 2010.

I’m a young writer (only eighteen) and I do it primarily as a hobby for now - although it’s something that I would be interested in pursuing in the future. So far I’ve had a few articles published - three in a young people’s magazine and one on a well-known movie blog. I have also interviewed an author who I admire and entered (and won) a few writing competitions. I would really like to add to this resume and get a few more pieces published.

My main issue is that I’m a total perfectionist - in every aspect of my life. Unfortunately this stretches over to work and I have a desire to make everything as perfect as it can possibly be. I realise that this is good, in some respects, as I’m always pushing myself to work harder and harder. And yet, at the same time, I feel it’s holding me back because I never have the courage to submit anything for publication. My main concern is what if it does get published, but it’s not as good as it could be? How will I feel if I look back on it in twenty years and find it terrible? At my age, I feel I’m changing as a writer all the time and what seemed good to me last year, seems atrocious this year.

I only entered the writing competitions because my parents practically forced me to (they’re not pushy parents in the slightest, but they know I’d never have entered of my own volition.) On the one hand I tend to think that I must at least be decent enough as a writer to be published by those that have printed my work. On the other hand, however, my insecurities come back at me - the fact that I’m only eighteen and know that I could improve so much in years to come; the fact that I know I may look back and cringe at my work in a few years. But in doing so, I am also holding myself back and missing some potentially great opportunities. It’s a self-perpetuating cycle.