1. johnjames

johnjames New Member

Smashwords short story publishing - is it profitable, or at all worthwhile?

Discussion in 'Self-Publishing' started by johnjames, Jul 28, 2010.

I am an author, and have already a novel series pending publication through print.
    I do, however, have also a large collection of short stories I have created.
    Now, I am only a young and unknown author, and - not intending to sound pompous - I am very good. I focus on mainly on fantasy, science-fiction, romance, philosophy and socio-political criticisms and parodies.
    It is difficult to professionally publish short stories like mine - at least, while I am an unkown. I've yet to find a reputable agent in Australia without a "no short stories" notice.
    Taking a look at Smashwords, it seems a decent solution.
    But, it also appears as though - and no offense to any authors already published on Smashwords - it appears as though a large portion of books published through that service are there only because they were not good enough for mainstream.
    I fear that if the expectation of quality is low, my stories would get very little circulation regardless of their own quality.

So, my question is - and please, only answer if you have experience with Smashword publishing - if my short; for example a serious sci-fi romp of about 17,000 words priced between $2.99-$3.99 and available as Premium were floating around and could genuinely claim the high quality I do, would I ever see any money?

I don't mean mega-money of course, and the site itself cautions against high expectations, but I have other projects, and converting to or writing new ebooks takes time from them.
    I need to know if it's reasonable to expect sales at all - say, even as low as roughly $30-$50 a week, but if I'd only make $7 in three months - remember, the example is supposedly a very popular piece - I could find better uses for my time.