1. stef

stef New Member

Problems adding speech

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by stef, Feb 20, 2010.

Hi,

I have been writing on and off for several years but I've always had a problem whenm it comes to adding dialogue. I find it difficult to add dialogue without slowing the flow of story, also find it hard to make it sound convincing with out being a long rant. I also find it difficult to express my characters through their speech, they all tend to 'sound' the same and I'm not sure how to change it without giving people over the top accents.
    Any help or advice would be great,
    Thanks!

2. Neoaptt

Neoaptt Banned

This just means you are sane. You don't hear voices in your head that tell you what to write.

You might be able to write plots. But if you aren't able to create diolog you might try studying people. Be able to start hearing voices.

3. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

thing is, you shouldn't be 'adding' dialog... it should flow naturally from what's going on in the story with your characters... if you haven't made them real enough yet, that could be the problem... when they're real to you and are doing things that real people do, they'll begin to speak...

don't do things without saying anything, do they?... they don't spend time with each other without speaking, so your characters can't, either... allow them to speak, and they will!

4. stef

stef New Member

thanks for you advice,
    i do try to let the dialogue flow, but I always think it needs to have some umphf! rather than being just conversation. Perhaps I'm thinking too much, after all I'm not trying to write some shakesperian speech!

5. Gallowglass

Gallowglass Contributor Contributor

I do. When I'm writing, that is. The dialogue flows, and new lines just appear without me thinking of them - the accent that they are presented in is quite often that of the character that they are intended for.