Tags:
  1. Quest

Quest New Member

New Writer

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by Quest, May 7, 2010.

Hi guys, I am new to all of this and I need your advice.
    For years I cooked a thriller in my head' and I started to write it a couple of days ago. It is going great, no writers block, because it was long time in the making. And it will probably be a trilogy.
    I have a few questions:

1. How do I find a publisher that can give me a good contract? I know I have a good book in the making?

2. Can I use real name of actors in my book, like, one of my characters see a famous actor?

3. Can my hero ask himself in the book that he is wondering what would another hero will do in the same situation, for example:
    "I wonder what Jack Richer for Lee Child books would have done now"?

4. I am basing some of my characters on my friends, with their permission, is that a problem? Should they sign something?

Thank you so much

A. Quest

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

1. After you finish your manuscript (including editing/revision passes), staret sending out query letters. You will learn patience.

2. Using real names can be risky, depending on context. You'd be surprised at some of the things that could be considered defamatory.

3. You can, at the risk of seeming corny or obsequious.

4. Bad idea. If you are determined to do so anyway, absolutely get signed permission, and have a literary attorney check the consent forms carefully to make sure you are covered. I repeat, this is a very bad idea. Even if you avoid getting sued, you can lose your friends this way.

3. Quest

Quest New Member

Thank you so much for your advice.
    Any good publishers you can recommend for me?

4. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

i can ditto all cog had to say... plus: