1. EmilyChristine

EmilyChristine New Member

Building a believable environment

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by EmilyChristine, Aug 24, 2012.

Hello everyone! I'm fairly new to WritingForums and am still gaining my bearings, but I figured I'd hop in and tackle one of the major problems I find with my writing. I've often been critiqued on my lack of environment and the fact that I develop characters too much before creating a believable setting. Does anyone have any specific tips on introducing a realistic environment (whether it be actual or fictional)?

Thank you in advance! :)

2. captain kate

captain kate Senior Member

I tend to create mine as I go along, so I don't know if it's necessarily the right way to do things. However, with that said, environment can be anything from how your characters interact to the physical description. The key is to create a world that's believable, which several books and movies do well. Check out a listing of the 50 best novels of all time, then go to the library and read them...that'll give some keys on how to accomplish your goal.

3. DanesDarkLand

DanesDarkLand New Member