1. divided_crown

divided_crown Member

Setting up a routine

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by divided_crown, Jun 28, 2013.

I have been writing on-off for several years now, starting to take things serious during NaNoWriMo 2010. Unfortunately, the routine never stuck - my NaNo novel was more of a disjointed collection of scenes and never completed. I have since started about a dozen different projects, many of which were supposed to be short stories for the purpose of practicing the craft.

With each of these stories, though, it has been the same: at some point during their conception, I decided that maybe a short story would not be enough and I started spreading my ideas for a very rough plot that could fill a novel.

As a result, I ended up with a dozen half-started projects, some plotted, some written spontaneously (I'm a pantser, but subject to the illusion that maybe plotting can help me get something done - so far, it failed), and no motivation whatsoever to finish either one. The reason: I have no idea where to start as all those projects are now HUGE.

After graduating from university recently, I will soon start to work full-time. This might actually be the right time to set up a proper routine. However, I am struggling with this because the single most important piece is missing: a decent project. I don't want to start one of the big ones back up right now, simply because the disappointment of not moving forward may be too much. I also don't know how to properly design a short story so it REMAINS a short story. Many of the guides out there deal with novels, few with the intricacies of coming up with a somewhat concise, interesting story and not overloading it with ideas.

I'd really appreciate any hints and advice to help me out of this and towards properly finishing my first story.