1. toskala1

toskala1 New Member

Novels written in the 1st Person

Discussion in 'Discussion of Published Works' started by toskala1, Jul 22, 2011.

Hi

I'm planning on doing some writing in the 1st person but I have never written anything before. I was wondering if anyone had any recommendations for some great books written in the 1st person that I could enjoy and learn from?

Kind Regards

Toskala

2. Steerpike

Steerpike Felis amatus Contributor

Jim Butcher's Dresden Files are written in first person, and he does a nice job of it across multiple novels. And they're entertaining too.

3. art

art Contributor Contributor

If you don't mind Victorian prose then David Copperfield by Dickens.

4. colorthemap

colorthemap New Member

Congratz on your first sentences! Was that mean? JK

Anyway many novels in first person us that as an excuse to write poorly so try and avoid them.

5. Fullmetal Xeno

Fullmetal Xeno Protector of Literature Contributor

I would probably switch to 3rd person depending on the book. Cause i used to have my side project Blue Phoenix a first person novel. Now it's a 3rd person novel, because i have so many characters.

6. Steerpike

You can write 1st person novels with multiple point of view characters, but it is even harder to do well and probably not a good idea as a beginner.

7. TWErvin2

TWErvin2 Contributor Contributor

Steven Brust's Vlad Taltos series is First Person Past tense, as is Roger Zelazny's Chronicles of Amber.

David Wood's The Zombie Driven Life and Sandra Kring's Carry Me Home are both First Person present tense novels.

I think you've got the right idea, Toskala1. One of the best ways to learn how to write is to study the works of successful published authors.

8. James Scarborough

James Scarborough New Member