1. Artist369

Artist369 Active Member

Unconventional writing classification- Graphic Novel or not?

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Artist369, Jul 17, 2014.

So I am new the writing scene, brand new in fact. But I am not actually new to the industry. I'm an illustrator who has recently started writing and have found unexpectedly, that I have a passion for it. I've been working with writers for the past 3 or 4 years and recently had one of my long-time clients stumble on some of my writing online, completely by accident (I know, what are the chances, right?). He's a publisher, and he says I can try my hand at writing for them any time, specifically for the steampunk genre which I adore illustrating. I am seriously considering taking him up on his offer. Thing is, while I do plan on doing a full three-novel trilogy, I also want to look into branching out and combining my art with my writing beyond simple cover art. Not many people have that chance, and I'd like to take a stab at it. But I'm not a comic book artist, and I'm not sure my goal of a 25 page, fully-illustrated book classifies as a 'graphic novel'. My style is realistic, and they'd be full illustrations, not black line art with color underneath.

Really, it would be a glorified short-story with breathtaking, two-page spreads of illustration with text. IS there a marketability for such an idea? What would that even be called? 'Picture novella'? Or do I leave the label off and just jump in with two feet?

I'd offer to show my artwork, but it seems I could get in trouble for posting links. Sufficeth to say, I'm on deviantart and my screen name is lithriel. Anyway, this newb is looking to get her feet wet, and I could use some expert opinion. Thanks in advance! XD

Last edited: Jul 17, 2014
  2. Wreybies

Wreybies Thrice Retired Supporter Contributor