1. akexodia

akexodia Member

Short Story Short story v/s Novel: The Approach ?

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by akexodia, Mar 9, 2012.

I wrapped up one novel length story few months ago (as in, 100% complete). And a few days back another plot idea struck my mind. As i sat down thinking about the plot at depth, i realised that it would be possible to write it as a short story only. So, i begin to jot down the rough draft of the 'short story'.
    This is where the chaos starts. I've never written a short story before.

How does one approach writing a short story? (I mean, how does the approach differ from writing a novel. And no, I don't intend to point at the word limit :p) The approach regarding the thinking process. To what depth do I need to describe te scenes/characters? I feel that I'm tending to describe things a lot more in detail than it actually should.

I browsed thorugh a few short stories on here. But it didnt seem to give me much insight.

2. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

by constant reading of the best short stories of all time!

To
    you'll learn that by doing the above...

that's because you're browsing in the wrong place... would you try to learn how to build a car engine by watching non-pro 'week-end mechanics' fiddle with their own cars?... for useful insight, do the above...

3. Elgaisma

Elgaisma Contributor Contributor

Personally, I don't approach them that much differently to the way I approach my novels. Dolly Parton is my heroine of flash fiction ;) She is fantastic at plots and characters in a short space of time and I tend to study her songs a lot.

Like all stories it needs a beginning, a middle and an end - so I approach it much the same way I do my novels, but with fewer characters and no subplots (unless one creeps in naturally ;) ) The descriptions are more sparse etc

4. Erato

Erato New Member