1. Crystal Parney

Crystal Parney New Member

Ending a Novel

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Crystal Parney, Aug 10, 2012.

Hello fellow creatures. I have some issues when it comes to ending my novels. As a writer I want my reader to feel satisfied when they finish my story. My endings seem to never quite 100% satisfy. Any tips and technigues how to bring a story to a satisfying ending?:eek:

2. marktx

marktx New Member

In order to create an emotionally satisfying ending, I strongly believe that the story itself has to operate on several levels.

At the top level is what I call the "top-line" story. This is the adventure, or quest for the story's explicitly stated goal (solving the mystery, defeating the bad guy, finding the Holy Grail, whatever).

But underneath the top-line story (and connected to it) is the "character story." This is the growth, development, and discovery that the protagonist undergoes on a personal level while pursuing the goals of the top-line story. Very often the protagonist begins with no realization of this deeper need within themselves, but in the course of pursuing the top-line story, they discover a deeper need and come to some higher truth about themselves.

I've plugged this before, but it really bears consideration, so I'll mention it again. Robert McKee, who is the go-to guy in Hollywood for ensuring that movie script storylines pack the necessary emotional punch to leave the audience satisfied when the credits roll, has written a book called "Story" which explores this dynamic. I strongly recommend this book. He is focused on movie act structure, but the underlying principles of character arc are completely applicable to novels, and his book opened my eyes to ways to make my stories more compelling in ways that feel real to the reader/audience.

3. EdFromNY

EdFromNY Hope to improve with age Supporter Contributor