1. afinemess

afinemess Active Member

Technical problems

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by afinemess, Dec 31, 2009.

I got a new laptop for Christmas to write on, and it's giving me issues. I thought maybe some of you savvy people could give me some insight. It's a Dell, and no matter if it's in microsoft word or office word processor, when I'm in the middle of typing, it changes fonts on me, switches formatting, and even deletes entire paragraphs. I thought my hands might be resting on the keys wrong, but even when I made sure I wasn't, it did it. Sound like something I'm doing that I can fix, or I got a lemon? I'll be looking into it more tomorrow and calling my computer tech brother in law. But I thought maybe it was a simple fix yall could help with. I had some things I wanted to get into, but I'll hold off.

2. ManhattanMss

ManhattanMss New Member

I'm not a techie, but this doesn't sound good to me. I don't think you need to feel like you ought to know why this is happening, and my inclination would be to return it to Dell. I'd certainly contact them (and maybe give them an opportunity to provide a "fix") but I'm smellin' lemonade, myself.:(

3. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

i've had nothing but dell laptops for many years and never was subject to such misbehavior... of bro-in-law is equally flummoxed, call dell's help line and ask them... you can also do an online chat, since it's in warranty...

4. SonnehLee

SonnehLee Contributor Contributor

What version of Word do you have? It sounds like your word processor might be the problem, not the computer as a whole. But I don't know for sure.

5. Mercurial

Mercurial Contributor Contributor