1. Jayray7352

Jayray7352 New Member

Is there a formal structure to Kipling's "Law of the Jungle"?

Discussion in 'The Craft of Writing Poetry' started by Jayray7352, May 12, 2014.

I am trying to find information on the structure of this poem, specifically its syllabic structure. Is this an established form of poetry, or was it simply free form? I am fairly new to writing poetry, so I am trying to delve into a few of my favorites. This poem comes out to the following syllabic structure: 17,19,18,18,17,20,17,17,17,17,17,17,18,18

Can anyone provide information on this "style" of poetry? Any help is appreciated.

2. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

syllable count alone is not sufficient for analyzing the structure... you also have to consider which syllables are 'silent' or elided, when read and which are stressed...

it would seem from that list of numbers that kipling had established a 17-syllable line structure and only strayed from it as the wording required... when read, i'd guess it sounds consistent...

and i don't know of any 'traditional' form that has a consistent 17-syllable structure...

ok, i just googled it, since i'd read it many decades ago and couldn't recall how it went... and i find that you've combined lines, instead of counting each one...

it's not written as couplets, but as quatrains, so you need to count each line in the 4-line stanzas...

and yes, it does read smoothly, despite the few departures from the commonly used 8/9-syllable count...

3. Jayray7352

Jayray7352 New Member

Thanks for the response :) I wasn't sure if it was "couplets" or "quatrains" (new terms for me, thank you :) ). So is the 8/9-syllable count a traditional structure?

4. mammamaia

i don't know if it could be considered 'traditional,' but it is certainly a commonly used structure favored by many poets, including myself... it has what i find to be a 'natural' rhythm that flows easily off the tongue, or in the mind...

Jayray7352 likes this.