1. mrieder79

mrieder79 Probably not a ground squirrel Contributor

Size does matter: sentence length.

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by mrieder79, Jul 11, 2016.

I'm no pro--still a beginner, really, but as my current manuscript is putting on weight, I have noticed that my sentences are getting shorter. Not all of them, but more of them. I find myself using conjunctions less and periods more. I string together shorter sentences that follow the same logical flow rather than trying to cram too many ideas into a monstrous conjunction beast. I feel like this improves the rhythm and flow of my writing.
    How do you approach sentence structure?

Simpson17866, jannert and IlaridaArch like this.
  2. IlaridaArch

IlaridaArch Active Member

Well I haven't gotten into editing yet, so I don't have same kind of approach yet. But my main concern is to use it as extra force behind the words; shorter sentences in dialogue boost the feeling of intense convo, and longer sentences make it seem more peaceful.

That's the only thing I have thought about the length of them. So I got that going on for me.

CrusherBrooks and jannert like this.
  3. jannert

jannert Retired Mod Supporter Contributor

It's true that shorter sentences speed up the reading experience. So by all means use short sentences if you want the passage to gallop along. Sometimes that's what you need to happen, but beware of shortening all of them. Most people need a bit of a rest while reading, and if the whole thing is short and punchy, the reader is likely to feel short and punched at the end of the story.

I always strive for the balance I need for what I'm trying to convey. That means shorter sentences in a scene that contains activity, and longer, more leisurely ones during the general development scenes. Of course you can also vary the sentence length within these scenes as well. As soon as the rhythm becomes obvious, it probably needs to be changed.