Tags:
  1. Oyster Man

Oyster Man New Member

Infection

Discussion in 'Research' started by Oyster Man, Jun 5, 2010.

Dear WritingForums,

Hello, I'm a bit new to writing, so I figured joining this site would help with that. You see, I'm having trouble with a section in the book I'm writing.

It's about an alien parasite that takes control of it's hosts. Its made up of thousands of little spores that burrow into your skin and insert themselves into your muscular and nervous system, putting you into a coma. The parasite, refereed to as a mold, have a hive mind, and can form in giant masses. The book is being written in a third person limited omniscient view.

Now, I'm trying to write this scene with a person (actually an alien, but that'd be giving away plot details) getting infected, but remaining conscious through it. I don't know if I want it to be from his point of view, or the parasites. I'm also having trouble just describing the process, and how it feels.

The parasite, which isn't much bigger than a flake of dust has to dig through the body, which is very very painful. From there it gains control of the body, and then the mind. The person being infected is a little different from others, and because of that he remains very aware as to what is happening.

All help is greatly appreciated, and sorry if this is a little hard to understand. I will try and clarify if needed.

2. Norm

Norm New Member

Why don't you start it from the Alien's POV and gradually move to the parasite's POV as the infection grows more and more dominant?

3. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

That sounds confusing to the reader. It suggest a third person limited POV, but rely on showing the character's behavior rather than indulging in he thought and he felt.

4. Oyster Man

Oyster Man New Member

Alright, thanks.
    I'll give it a go and put my result up here.

Also, I really gotta admire the fast results. I think I'm gonna like it here.

5. TerraIncognita