Tags:
  1. GoodTweetyBird

GoodTweetyBird New Member

Flashbacks

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by GoodTweetyBird, Jul 31, 2013.

While working on a story I decided that the opening would be much stronger with an event that happens at a point just a short ways down the actual timeline of the story. Pointers to good instruction on flashbacks would sure be helpful. I suppose if one were good at it the flashback could contain dialog but I suspect just narrative would be easier.

Wished I had more interest when I was back in school. I am an engineer so I think I can handle grammar, spelling, etc from tech writing experience. But the good stuff that makes a novel is where I have a poor grasp. I laughed at myself when I was stumbling about where to place quotation marks and punctuation in a back and forth dialog.

So bottom line I would ask someone to direct me to some good examples of flashbacks.

Thanks,
    jh

2. GingerCoffee

GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor

I hear all the time, don't use flashbacks, but I have them in my story, nonetheless. I chose to use flashbacks because I want to include scenes from my protag's earlier years while writing the story about older teens and young adults.

The first thing you need to decide is, do you need flashbacks or are you just using them to insert backstory that could be inserted some other way?

What do you mean by, "a point just a short ways down the actual timeline of the story".

3. GoodTweetyBird

Well I couldn't think of a better way to say it without an example. So let's say the life of the story opens on Monday.