1. J. Edmonds

J. Edmonds New Member

Some Beginner's Help

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by J. Edmonds, Mar 4, 2014.

I am relatively new to creative writing, so please bear with me. The story I'm writing has text from a 17th century book inserted verbatim within the story. The inserted text has nothing to do with the story other than to visually illustrate it comes from a very old book. I have purposely changed the font of this passage throughout my story to one in keeping with the time it was written. The excerpts I'm using were reprinted/published by the Cambridge University Press in 1984.
    Am I obligated to cite this work or get permission of any kind to use this text for publishing purposes?

2. thirdwind

thirdwind Contributing Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor

This quote from Stanford University's library page should answer your question:

3. JayG

JayG Banned Contributor

Every single in in your story should move the plot, develop character, or meaningfully set the scene (hopefully, more then one of those at a time). From what you said the inserted text does none of them and thus only slows the narrative, because for every moment the reader is looking at that text nothing is happening in the story. If you say the protagonist reading an old book it is, and needs no demonstration. God help us if you run the protagonist into the bathroom. :eek:

4. ChickenFreak

ChickenFreak Contributing Member Contributor

This, IMO, is the risky part. If the 1984 republisher did any creative work at all in preparing the text for publication--spelling choice, translation, creative choice of line breaks, etc.--then that work could be copyrightable.

5. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

this is a duplicate thread... please see my comments in the other one... and then ask a moderator to combine the two...

6. J. Edmonds

J. Edmonds New Member