1. bc1

bc1 New Member

Novel Chapter word limits??

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by bc1, May 19, 2009.

Hi everyone! I am brand new to writing forum. I have, for the last few days, been reading through tons of posts and threads and I can already tell that this site is going to be real helpful. I am beginning my first novel. I'm no writer and with much of my decisions in life, I woke up one day and said I want to write a book. Hummm? I said this too when I was 19 and decided I would join the military! I am happy to say that I lasted 5 years and met my wonderful husband. Anyone can do anything that they put their minds to.

Anyway, the reason I am here is to learn. So for my first of many questions I am sure, is there a word limit to chapters? I know how I want my second chapter to start off but I don't want to cut the first chapter too short. Help please?!?!

By the way I am working on getting my Bachelors in English Lit so I am not totally blind to the world of writing!

2. RomanticRose

RomanticRose Active Member

A chapter can be any length you want it to be. Anywhere from two words to having no chapter breaks in the book at all.

3. ManhattanMss

ManhattanMss New Member

Exactly.

Writing your story will give you a beginning point, because there may be a kind of natural flow to your storyline. At the same time, read bunches of novels. That'll give you a really good idea what the effects are (on a reader) of length and what kinds of stories read better in longer or shorter segments. By the time you've written your novel and read tons of others, your writing will probably have improved. Then, down the road, an agent may offer up some wise words of wisdom about chapter size (among other things) as it relates to your particular work (think "marketability").

4. Primitive

Primitive New Member