Tags:
  1. OurJud

OurJud Contributor Contributor

New to poetry

Discussion in 'The Craft of Writing Poetry' started by OurJud, May 21, 2009.

I wasn't sure where to post this, so apologies if it's in the wrong place. I have seen the poety section, but as that seems to be reseved for the poems themselves, and not help on, I thought I'd better stick my question in here.

I've been writing short stories for many years now, but I've never really tried my hand at poetry - at least not with any conviction.

The reason I've been put off for so long is down to the rules of poetry. I've always thought and presumed that they are far more strict for this art form than they are for the short story. If you read someone's short story, you soon get a fairly good idea as to whether they can write (in the most basic sense). But this is usually because of their sentence structure, timing, pace etc, and not always because they're 'breaking rules'. However, I have this idea that if a poetry 'expert' were to read one of my efforts, he would be able to tell immediatley that I don't know anything about the subject, because - just for instance - I used too many lines in the first verse, or that the last word in my third line rhyms with the last word in my first line, when it should actually rhyme with the the last word in the second line, etc etc.

What I'm trying to say here is that the 'there are no rules' viewpoint which applies to general writing, doesn't apply so well to poetry.

So lets say I wanted to write a short, rhyming poem. How many verses should it have? Which words need to rhyme with which? Or are there, even for poetry, no rules?

2. sophie.

sophie. New Member

I'll try and help you with your questions, but I am probably not the best person to ask.