1. n00b

n00b New Member

Is this irony?

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by n00b, Jul 10, 2009.

Hi, just coming off a 10hr writing session and my mind's a little frazzled.

Could someone tell me if the following situation is an example of irony? :

WOMAN X's fiance cheating on her with a divorce lawyer.

Or would it only count as 'irony' if it was HER divorce lawyer, and not just a random one? (Although who really 'has' a divorce lawyer prior to any cheating?)

Does my question make sense? I hope it does.

2. wiggons

wiggons New Member

im no expert on irony, but maybe it would be ironic if she cheated on the fiance' with the divorce lawywer, THEN they get divorced and that lawyer is the divorce lawyer. but i have no clue...

3. Scribe Rewan

Scribe Rewan New Member

I'd say that was ironic. You have to assume that for everyone, infidelity is grounds for divorce, but yes I think it works ok as irony.

4. Gannon

Gannon Contributor Contributor

I think this idea could be ironic, but is not explicitly so as it is. I think the definition you are aiming to satisfy is: an outcome of events contrary to what was, or might have been, expected. As such, I'm not sure your events are contrary to what is expected, context dependant. If we are looking at this scenario from HUSBAND X's point of view and he telling FRIEND Y of WIFE X's shenanigans then it could be portrayed ironically thus:

FY: How's the divorce going?
    HX: Great. It turns out she's been bedding some guy to boot!
    FY: Never!
    HX: It's true, and you'll never guess who. The bloody divorce lawyer.

Hopefully this houses two cases of irony. The first in answering 'Great' to a situation that is clearly not great, and second by presenting the divorce lawyer as the last person you may expect to have been involved. You could improve that sense of contrariness in expectation in your narrative building by having the lawyer earlier presented as without reproach, or perhaps hideously ugly.

5. Show