1. GLaw

GLaw New Member

Spotting Cliches Early - Help?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by GLaw, Aug 25, 2016.

Hi, this is my first time posting here and I'm a little nervous, but I need some writer-ly advice if it's not too much trouble.

I'm in the early stages of brewing an idea for a novel, which is likely to be teen thriller/romance. Basically, my main character has retrograde episodic memory loss, and although she knows she loves her boyfriend very deeply, she can't remember the specifics. This includes first kiss, a plot-relevant romantic trip to Ireland, or even falling for him in the first place. Thus, a foundation is set for a story about realistic emotional cheating (okay, okay, it's a love triangle, but I love them when they are done well), and the final, rather grim moral is that first love isn't always forever. It's kind of an extended metaphor (is this the right term?) for falling out of love.

My issue is that I am pretty certain amnesia in MCs is the most cliche of all cliches. Sinful, in fact. But I want a realistic representation of the condition, and intend the narrative of my MC to be disorientated and unreliable to reflect her emotional state. The plot device would also add more depth to a mystery - something that happened in Ireland, the trauma she ought to be thankful she forgot - meaning there could be two narratives, almost; the MC before, and the MC after. The ambiguity would also create the gothic tone for which I am aiming.

So, I know I haven't gone into huge detail, but does anyone think I should scrap the idea now while I'm not in too deep? Any tips on how to handle this plot in a sophisticated way? I'm young and fairly new to writing so I would appreciate any constructive criticism you have.

Thanks a million,
    GLaw

Tesoro likes this.
  2. Sack-a-Doo!

Sack-a-Doo! Contributor Contributor