1. Novel Novice

Novel Novice Member

Starting off... And Maintaining

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Novel Novice, Jul 25, 2007.

Hey folks,

I have an awful time getting my projects up and running. I ideas, sure, but it's never an easy take-off... or flight, for that matter.

I was just wondering what you all had to offer with starting off a story (novel or short story of any genre)? Do you find yourself just writing and seeing where it takes you? Do you have some mathematical plan that allows you a smooth start? Do you rough draft the whole story before you set finger to keyboard?

And then, once the story is started (when I do get wheels off the runway), I cannot seem to maintain the story line for some stories for very long. Any tips with this?

As you can see, I am a writer that needs heavy molding. Any help would be much appreciated! Thank you.

2. Crazy Ivan

Crazy Ivan Contributing Member

Try writing brief summaries of your scenes out beforehand. ie:

1. Jack and Jill are going up the hill to fetch a pail of water so they can put out a bushfire
    2. Jill realizes there is no water in the well; flashback scenes of the drought on Fairy Tale Land and the effects it has been having on the citizens.
    3. Jack, seeing that the fire is going to claim them all, grabs Jill and makes passionate love to her in the light of the flames.
    4. The fire destroys Fairy Tale Land; show citizens dying (The scene of Humpty Dumpty being cooked should be particularly exciting)
    5. Hundreds of years later, aliens come across the ruins of the city and wonder what kind of people used to live here.

--

....or something like that. =P
    Just briefly plan out your scenes and you'll find the directions and plots of the book beginning to connect together, and hopefully come to a conclusion. From there on, it's only a matter of inflating the outline with a bunch of words to make your story. ;)

3. DivineLemon

DivineLemon Member