1. naive

naive New Member

starting

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by naive, Apr 5, 2015.

After demonstrating a degree of tenacity just to register on this site, I'm now thinking it might simply just be avoidance tactics. I'm very new to this and am interested to know how you get over that horribly exposed feeling that comes with showing anyone something you've written. It really does feel like you've revealed your soul to a stranger (even if it's a close loved one). In short, how do I know if I'm any good and it's worth continuing?

2. BayView

BayView Contributing Member Contributor

You can make it a bit easier by not identifying too closely with any individual piece of writing. You're not showing your work to others to find out if you're any good, you're just trying to figure out if that one individual piece is any good.

Maybe it would be easier to start with something totally experimental. Don't share the work of your heart; share something from your head. Like, write the same scene from three different POVs, or pick a random writing prompt from somewhere and work on it.

And do work on it. Make whatever it is as good as you can, and then show it to people and see what they think. If they're critical, they're just talking about this one experiment, not about you as a writer.

Might that work?

3. Wreybies

Wreybies The Ops Pops Operations Manager Staff Contest Administrator Supporter Contributor

This. The goal is to improve you as a writer, not just one piece of writing. You cannot practice and train for a marathon within the marathon itself. It's many runs across months or years, up city streets, through neighborhoods, around the track, and then you register for the marathon.

TheWingedFox, BayView and Megalith like this.
  4. Mckk

Mckk Moderator Staff Supporter Contributor